NR
Advice/Recommendation

The Power of Journalling

bees

I am now the sort of person who journals every evening and the great thing about it is that there are no rules! You can write as little or as much as you'd like, about any topic of your choice. A journal will always be there to listen and to give you a safe, non-judgmental space to express your thoughts.

I've never been someone to write down my thoughts and feelings, scratch that - I've never been someone to openly talk about my feelings. This is where journaling has come in useful, it helps to disclose emotions rather than stuffing them down.

It was my brother who first got me onto journalling back in 2020, during the lockdown. He had encouraged me to write down how I was feeling daily (good or bad), as it had helped him hugely. Something was terrifying about writing everything down, it almost made them feel real and therefore, something I'd have to acknowledge. However, I took on the suggestion (what's wrong with giving it a go?) and as the days went on, I started to feel fully comfortable and be honest with myself to discuss topics that I wouldn't necessarily bring up in conversations.

Journalling allowed me to fully organise my thoughts. I'd write about my good days and bad days as well as what I was grateful for each day! It was important for me to end each journal entry with gratitude, especially for days where I felt heavy. I found journaling to be one of the more effective acts of self-care, and one of the cheapest of course.

Since becoming a huge fan, I've recommended it to several friends, who have thoroughly enjoyed it! I've encouraged them to fully open up as this can feel super relieving. We all feel secret pain and shame which we choose not to discuss, so translating them into black and white text means that it should no longer take up room in your head.

Overall, it's worked for me. It's my way of de-stressing and relaxing and a time of day that I look forward to, where I'm doing something good for my mind and body.

I encourage you to try, go on...

NR© 2020 — Designed & developed by supnim.com